The Super Mileage Vehicle Team of the Universitas Indonesia (UI-SMV) recorded an achievement in the Shell Eco-Marathon Autonomous Programming Competition 2022. The Nakoela and Arjuna teams fell in the Autonomous Programming category. Team Nakoela was ranked 6th in the world and ranked 3rd in Asia Pacific and the Middle East, while Team Arjuna was ranked 8th in the world.

The competition, which took place from 28 March – 22 April 2022, was participated by 25 teams from all over the world, including Asia, the Middle East, America, and Europe. The Nakoela team and the Arjuna team from SMV-UI consisted of 20 students from the Faculty of Engineering, Universitas Indonesia (FTUI).

The Shell Eco Marathon Virtual program competition was held for the second time online since the Covid-19 pandemic. The Nakoela and Arjuna teams from UI-SMV participated in the Virtual League Table competition category. In this competition category, teams compete to collect the most points. There are four types of activities that UI-SMV participates in in this category, namely Shell Eco Marathon Quiz, Future Rider, Autonomous Programming, Pitch the Future, and Virtual Off-Track Competition.

“Shell Eco Marathon Quiz is a competition sub-activity which is a question and answer session about the history of the Shell Eco Marathon. In the Pitch the Future sub-race, teams were asked to develop more efficient and effective autonomous cars. In this sub-race, we developed the idea of ​​a robot that can change car tires and make a seat that can adjust to the driver’s position. Then in the Autonomous Programming sub-competition, we designed a coding program and simulated it on Carla’s software. Lastly, the Virtual Off-Track Competition sub-competition is an activity to write four papers with four different topics. The four topics are communication words, carbon print in vehicle, innovation awards, and telemetry,” said Raihan Tsaqif Abyanudin, Head of SMV-UI.

“In the autonomous programming competition, our team has to make programming coding that simulates our car. The car is then controlled autonomously by the team during the race. The car is programmed to reach the 15 checkpoints on the race map. The assessment is carried out based on energy usage, distance, CPU usage, and the time required by the car to complete all checkpoints, so that the efficiency value of the simulation that has been carried out can be seen,” said Achmad Alvien Nurhidayatullah, manager of the Nakoela team.

The UI-SMV team designed the coding for autonomous control using Carla software. The resulting car design focuses on the design of the fastest lane, the most efficient time and speed. These three things ultimately have an impact on the least emissions produced by the car designed by the UI-SMV team.

The Dean of FTUI, Prof. Dr. Heri Hermansyah, ST., M.Eng., IPU appreciates the work and achievements of the FTUI students who are members of the SMV UI team. “Hopefully the autonomous car designs for these students can be developed in the future to support the development of environmentally friendly cars in Indonesia. Especially the development of an autonomous control system that can help ensure the safety and security of users of domestic automotive products in the future. Hopefully the SMV-UI team will continue to excel in the future, including the Shell Eco Marathon Indonesia competition in September 2022.”

UI-SMV brought twenty members of the Nakoela team and the Arjuna team to this competition. They are Achmad Alvien Nurhidayatullah (Electrical Engineering 2019), Andriko Rasta Indriantomo (Mechanical Engineering 2020), Arifa Shelina Adjani (Mechanical Engineering 2020), Ariza Aulia Ghifari (Mechanical Engineering 2020), Gabriella Emristy (Mechanical Engineering 2018), Leo Triyana (Mechanical Engineering 2018). Engine 2018), Marsya Renatha Bahasoean (Marine Engineering 2020), Muhammad Alfan Fuad Dzia Ul Haq (Electrical Engineering 2020), Rai Zulfikar Satriagama (Mechanical Engineering 2019), Ricky Rahman Papudi (Electrical Engineering 2020), Yoga Cahya Nugraha (Mechanical Engineering 2019 ), Akmal Rayhan (Mechanical Engineering 2019), Raihan Tsaqif Abyanudin (Mechanical Engineering 2019), Rayhan Danendra Wiracalosa (Mechanical Engineering 2020), Edgar Nagok Nahum (Electrical Engineering 2018), Edward (Mechanical Engineering 2020), Muammar Shaddam Kusnandar (Mechanical Engineering 2020), and Stephanus Keagan Riantoputra (Mechanical Engineering 2018).


Public Communication Bureau
Faculty of Engineering, Universitas Indonesia